Worship from the ground up: the vision

I wanted to kick this blog off with a little background on myself and my motives and vision for this online record.  I have seen lots of blogs, I mean LOTS of blogs…. some are vanity projects, some are instructional, some are fan sites for video games or movies.  My vision for this is a bit different than all of those.  Read on for my vision for this blog…

Before we get to that, let me tell you a little bit about myself.  I am a 32 year old worship pastor.  I grew up in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and have led worship for the past 14 years or so.  I have been involved with a variety of worship/church situations, from very traditional to extremely edgy and modern.  Eight months ago, I uprooted the family in pursuit of my first full-time ministry position at a church in the small town of Carthage, Missouri.  While it has definitely taken some getting used to, moving from a town in the hundreds of thousands to one of fifteen thousand has been an amazing experience.  I am serving alongside willing volunteers on a limited budget, limited talent, limited resources, and a limited staff.

We have embarked on a journey to bring creative, innovative, engaging, thought-provoking, and hopefully life-changing experiences to those who attend our weekend services.  This blog has been created to bring you along for the ride as we grow, develop, and, with God’s help and guidance, discover the best ways to pull these experiences off with the limitations with which we are currently presented.

It is a simple fact that the vast majority of churches simply lack many of the resources to pull off the amazing experiences we can see at places like North Point, Elevation Church, or Fellowship Church, just to name a few. The average church isn’t in the thousands, its barely in triple digits.  But we all have the same amazing message to convey, communicate, share, testify to, and live out every single weekend.

My goal is to work to bring you the journey as we travel it.  As we cover and pass a new obstacle, I pray someone else is able to take and learn from our process.  Overall, I hope this serves to unify the growth and creative development of your church, possibly inspiring, possibly as a cautionary tale in some cases, but always moving towards the greater goal of presenting the Gospel in new and engaging ways.

As we begin a project, I intend to share my process.  If a song lands on our hearts, I hope to share it with you.  If we take a wrong turn, I want you to avoid that same mistake by seeing where we went wrong.  All in all, I want my experience to be open and clear so that we all can learn from it.  From the beginning, from little, from small, and on to wherever God guides us, I invite you to join in the process.  This is my passion.  This is my vision.  This is Worship From The Ground Up.

Leave a Reply

